Stuff People Say…

There’s nothing like riding home from the gym and hearing someone shout from the car behind you, “Get on the sidewalk you stupid bicycle whore!”  It might have made me mad once upon a time, but lately I’ve started collecting “Stuff People Say to Cyclists” because it’s kind of hilarious.  “Stupid bicycle whore.”  An image popped into my mind of a middle-aged woman with bright blue eye shadow, fishnet stockings, stiletto heels, a mini mini skirt, a little red corset, and teased-back platinum blonde hair riding along on a cruiser bicycle, pulling up alongside idling cars asking if anyone “wants a good time?”  I chuckled to myself as I realized how closely I resembled a bicycle whore – sweaty, smelly gym clothes, beat up tennies, fleece jacket tied around my waist due to overestimation of the outdoor temperature, and of course all my teased-back platinum blonde hair stuffed inside my very sexy bicycle helmet.  Yes, a stupid bicycle whore indeed.

Oh, and let’s not forget the fact that it’s illegal to ride your bike on the sidewalk, stupid car whore.

Leave a Reply

